}
Main Site Forums Holonet Tools About
Forum Index Rules Log in Search Profile Memberlist Usergroups Log in to check your private messages Register
Annoying PC trouble
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Star Wars: Episode VIII: Binds of Tyranny Forum Index » Off-Topic » Annoying PC trouble
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The Master
Sergeant


Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 301

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 08:45am    Post subject: Annoying PC trouble
Reply with quote

So, whenever I install a game or try and play a game I already have installed (and these are all games I have legally bought) I double click on the icon - nothing happens. I try the start menu icon - nothing. I go into the game folder and double click on the exe. Nothing! Basically, none of my games will load. I would have to download nocd cracks to be able to play my own games!

This problem only effects games that require a CD/DVD in to play. My drive works PERFECTLY for everything else, and it's able to read the games when I install them. What is going on?
_________________


--John Saxon--
Legitimate businessman, family man

(Also, wants to rule Universe with iron fist)


"*hugs Alexus* You are so my favorite player" - Nev.

Expand


Expand
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Brand
Sergeant


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 377

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 10:59am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I had a similar problem with Brood War and Homeworld 2 a while back. For Homeworld 2, I clicked on Run as Administrator, and for Brood War, I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it.
_________________
Grand Admiral Derek Brand
Commander of Krytocracy Naval Forces


*Stabs Wedge repeatedly* :P Now everybody's happy. - Lazer

In Soviet Russia, Force uses you! :P - Kypjargon

Sarin, you ***** *** pansy, you screw with me, you screw with my GIANT LASER GUN. - Xaph, imitating Commander Shepard
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
The Master
Sergeant


Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 301

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 11:22am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I've uninstalled and reinstalled everything to no avail :(
_________________


--John Saxon--
Legitimate businessman, family man

(Also, wants to rule Universe with iron fist)


"*hugs Alexus* You are so my favorite player" - Nev.

Expand


Expand
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Brand
Sergeant


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 377

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 11:50am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

What about run as administrator? What operating system are you using?
_________________
Grand Admiral Derek Brand
Commander of Krytocracy Naval Forces


*Stabs Wedge repeatedly* :P Now everybody's happy. - Lazer

In Soviet Russia, Force uses you! :P - Kypjargon

Sarin, you ***** *** pansy, you screw with me, you screw with my GIANT LASER GUN. - Xaph, imitating Commander Shepard
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
The Master
Sergeant


Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 301

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 12:04pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Win XP. I upgrade to Vista when my body is cold, still and lifeless.
_________________


--John Saxon--
Legitimate businessman, family man

(Also, wants to rule Universe with iron fist)


"*hugs Alexus* You are so my favorite player" - Nev.

Expand


Expand


Last edited by The Master on Sat, June 07th 2008 12:10pm; edited 2 times in total
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
dudop
Staff Sergeant


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Location: Denon

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 02:37pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I think Vista's awesome. Maybe it's a computer nerd thing, but I don't think I've ever seen a forum where somebody didn't start a conversation about how stupid it supposedly is.
_________________
Assets: 50,000 credits.
"Nothing" is a noun. therefore it must be something. Doesn't that ever bother you?
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Derek Brand
Sergeant


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 377

 Post Posted: Sat, June 07th 2008 03:56pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Vista sucks. :(

I'm seriously considering downgrading to XP, but I don't want to lose all of my files and crap.
_________________
Grand Admiral Derek Brand
Commander of Krytocracy Naval Forces


*Stabs Wedge repeatedly* :P Now everybody's happy. - Lazer

In Soviet Russia, Force uses you! :P - Kypjargon

Sarin, you ***** *** pansy, you screw with me, you screw with my GIANT LASER GUN. - Xaph, imitating Commander Shepard
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Tiara Tranada
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 1364
Location: Svivren

 Post Posted: Sun, June 08th 2008 12:27am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Buy a new HD and slave the old one to it. That's what I had to do to get rid of Vista. It was worth it, too.
_________________

Colonel Tiara Tranada
Agent Stentax 666

 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
The Master
Sergeant


Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Posts: 301

 Post Posted: Sun, June 08th 2008 05:58am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Want to help with my actual problem, anyone?
_________________


--John Saxon--
Legitimate businessman, family man

(Also, wants to rule Universe with iron fist)


"*hugs Alexus* You are so my favorite player" - Nev.

Expand


Expand
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Nevin Antilles
CMAC Webmaster


Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 1695

 Post Posted: Sun, June 08th 2008 12:34pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I'm not sure. I've only experienced that problem when the process was running before. It's probably something on the software side of the drive, if it's only happening that way... something like AutoPlay acting weird. I'm not sure, but I'd try reinstalling DirectX just to be sure it's the drive software/drivers.
_________________
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Tiara Tranada
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 30 May 2006
Posts: 1364
Location: Svivren

 Post Posted: Mon, June 09th 2008 09:24am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Total shot in the dark, but how is your motherboard/ram functioning?

Try a shitbag old game that still needs the CD to run and see if that works to make sure the games you are trying to run aren't reliant on too much memory for your computer to be able to run them.
_________________

Colonel Tiara Tranada
Agent Stentax 666

 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
dudop
Staff Sergeant


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 413
Location: Denon

 Post Posted: Mon, June 09th 2008 12:52pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I have a similar problem. I have some games I used to play on this SUPER old computer, and then I got a cool new one. [my dad] installed them on the new computer, and then there was a message that popped up saying "addon1" or something wasn't a valid thingamawhat. I think my brother fixed it somehow. I forgot how.
_________________
Assets: 50,000 credits.
"Nothing" is a noun. therefore it must be something. Doesn't that ever bother you?
 Back to top »
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Star Wars: Episode VIII: Binds of Tyranny Forum Index » Off-Topic » Annoying PC trouble
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum